Copyright © International Shark Class Association. All rights reserved.

The George Hinterhoeller Award

The George Hinterhoeller Award was introduced in 1999 in memory of the designer and builder of the boat that has brought us all tremendous enjoyment and camaraderie. The award is presented to sailors of "The Boat that George Built" who have made significant and lasting contributions to the Class.

Written nominations for this award are to be forwarded to the President of the International Shark Class Association which in turn are reviewed, considered and voted upon by the ISCA Executive Committee. The award is typically presented at the opening ceremonies of the Shark World Championships.


Past recipients of the George Hinterhoeller Award are as follows:

2014Greg CockburnGreg started racing Sharks in the mid to late 1960’s.  He won his first of four World Championships at the Bronte Harbour Yacht Club in Canada in 1993, and his most recent at the Yacht Club Kreuzlingen in Switzerland in 2010.  He became President of the International Shark Class Association in 1998 during the World Championships in Austria at the Breitenbrunn Yacht Club, and served as President of ISCA for 15 years.  Through his direction, in the year 2000, the Class gained recognition by becoming an ISAF Classic Yacht class.
2003Bill HendersonBill was the Canadian Shark Class treasurer for 10 years, and during 8 of those years he also held the position of secretary. He also created and managed the class website “Sharkbytes”, one of the best of its kind. 
2001Bodo GuentherBodo was the European builder for over twenty years, and was instrumental in the development and growth of the Class in Europe.
2000Sidney DakinSid made significant contributions with his racing success in the early days of the Shark Class, contributing significantly to the growth and development of the Class.
1999Tad GrygierTad was founder of and first president of the International Shark Class Association.